2000 Annual Meeting
Danville, Kentucky
March 3, 2000

1. Abdul H. Rifai Award. This award is for the outstanding undergraduate paper presented at the annual meeting. This year's award will be presented at the dinner meeting this evening.  The 1999 award went to Carrie Cutter of Centre College.

2. David Hughes Award. This award was created to acknowledge the most outstanding paper presented at the annual meeting by a faculty presenter from a Kentucky college or university. The Executive Committee chooses the recipient. The award for last year's paper will be presented at the dinner meeting this evening. The 1999 award for the best paper presented at the 1998 meeting went to Shamima Ahmed of Northern Kentucky University.

3. Distinguished Political Scientist Award. This award for retired faculty is made from time to time by vote of the Executive Committee upon nomination by individuals or departments. Past recipients are:

1988 Dr. Amry Vandenbosch, University of Kentucky
1990 Dr. Frederic Ogden, Eastern Kentucky University
1991 Dr. Louis Smith, Berea College
1993 Dr. Jack Bizzel, Morehead State University
1999 Dr. Malcolm Jewell, University of Kentucky

This year, the award will go to J. Allen Singleton, and will be presented to his wife and children at the dinner meeting.

10. Treasurer's Report. Nothing spectacular happened either way in the past year.  Our current accounts are in fine shape, and we seem to be breaking even at the meetings.  The interest generated on the accounts pretty much covers our awards expenses.

Balance 2/1/99 $2,290.49
Balance 2/1/99 $2,286.94
Balance 2/1/98 $2,384.96
Balance 2/1/97 $2,079.87
Balance 2/1/96 $1,690.87
Balance 2/1/95 $1,442.65
Balance 2/1/94 $1,126.55
Balance 2/1/93 $1,577.67
Balance 2/1/92 $1,550.02


Michael Berheide, Executive Secretary