2007 Annual Meeting
Morehead, Kentucky
March 2, 2007

1. Abdul H. Rifai Award. This award is for the outstanding undergraduate paper presented at the annual meeting. The 2006 award went to William Gyude Moore of Berea College.  This year's award will be presented at the dinner meeting this evening.

2. David Hughes Award. This award was created to acknowledge the most outstanding paper presented at the annual meeting by a faculty presenter from a Kentucky college or university.  The Executive Committee chooses the recipient.  The 2006 award went to Ken McIntyre of Campbellsville University.  This year's award will be presented at the dinner meeting this evening.

3. Distinguished Political Scientist Award. This award for retired faculty is made from time to time by vote of the Executive Committee upon nomination by individuals or departments. This year, we will be recognizing Dr. Larry R. Matheny of Centre College with the award.  Past recipients are:

1988 Dr. Amry Vandenbosch, University of Kentucky
1990 Dr. Frederic Ogden, Eastern Kentucky University
1991 Dr. Louis Smith, Berea College
1993 Dr. Jack Bizzel, Morehead State University
1999 Dr. Malcolm Jewell, University of Kentucky
2000 Dr. J. Allen Singleton, Eastern Kentucky University (posthumous)
2005 Dr. George Massanat, Western Kentucky University

4. Progress on Action Items: We had no action items from last year's meeting.

5. Treasurer's Report. The Executive Secretary lost the attendance figures from last year's meeting, thanks to a network glitch and poor planning.  The Associate Executive Secretary is now in charge of finances and reports our latest balance:

Balance 2/1/07 $4,396.06
Balance 2/1/06 $3,846.00
Balance 2/1/05 $3,565.19
Balance 2/1/04 $2,959.06
Balance 2/1/03 $2,900.93
Balance 2/1/02 $3,493.88
Balance 2/1/01 $2,530.28
Balance 2/1/00 $2,290.49
Balance 2/1/99 $2,286.94
Balance 2/1/98 $2,384.96


Michael Berheide, Executive Secretary