2006 Annual Meeting
Richmond, Kentucky
March 3, 2006

1. Abdul H. Rifai Award. This award is for the outstanding undergraduate paper presented at the annual meeting. The 2005 award went to Diana Freeman of Centre College.  This year's award will be presented at the dinner meeting this evening.

2. David Hughes Award. This award was created to acknowledge the most outstanding paper presented at the annual meeting by a faculty presenter from a Kentucky college or university.  The Executive Committee chooses the recipient.  The 2005 award went to Brian Caza of Georgetown College.  This year's award will be presented at the dinner meeting this evening.

3. Distinguished Political Scientist Award. This award for retired faculty is made from time to time by vote of the Executive Committee upon nomination by individuals or departments. Past recipients are:

1988 Dr. Amry Vandenbosch, University of Kentucky
1990 Dr. Frederic Ogden, Eastern Kentucky University
1991 Dr. Louis Smith, Berea College
1993 Dr. Jack Bizzel, Morehead State University
1999 Dr. Malcolm Jewell, University of Kentucky
2000 Dr. J. Allen Singleton, Eastern Kentucky University (posthumous)
2005 Dr. George Massanat, Western Kentucky University

4. Progress on Action Items:

5. Treasurer's Report. At last year's meeting, we had 78 people register, with 51 attending the dinner.  We currently have 38 dues-paying members.  At last year's meeting, thanks especially to some donations, we actually cleared nearly $300 above expenses.

Balance 2/1/06 $3,846.00
Balance 2/1/05 $3,565.19
Balance 2/1/04 $2,959.06
Balance 2/1/03 $2,900.93
Balance 2/1/02 $3,493.88
Balance 2/1/01 $2,530.28
Balance 2/1/00 $2,290.49
Balance 2/1/99 $2,286.94
Balance 2/1/98 $2,384.96
Balance 2/1/97 $2,079.87
Balance 2/1/96 $1,690.87
Balance 2/1/95 $1,442.65
Balance 2/1/94 $1,126.55

Michael Berheide, Executive Secretary