KPSA Graduate Student Paper Award

The KPSA Graduate Student Paper Award was established to recognize the outstanding paper presented at the previous year's conference by a graduate student from a Kentucky college or university. Papers are collected by the Executive Secretary-Treasurer and judged by the Executive Committee. The award is bestowed at the dinner meeting of the following conference.

Past Winners

2015 Katie Clark, University of Kentucky, “Consequences of Sexual Violence during Civil Conflicts for Post-Conflict Democratization.”

2015 Jungmoo Woo, University of Kentucky, “The Oil Trade Network and Democratization.”

2013 Mike Morgan, University of Kentucky, and Yu Ouyang, University of Kentucky, " The Impact of Rhetoric and Tone on Sanction Initiation, Extension, and Termination."

2012 Mr. Christopher W. Ledford, University of Louisville, "Understanding Ethnocentrism's Effects on Support for War through the Issue-Attention Framework."

2011 Mr. G. Jason Smith, Florida State University, "Sovereign Wealth Funds and the Resource Curse: Do Capital Reserves Stabilize Regimes Throughout the Commodity Price Cycle?"

2010 Carolyn Morgan, University of Louisville, "Sind die Deutsche wirklich ein Volk? Voter Behavior and Leftist Party Support in a 'United' Germany."