David Hughes Memorial Award

The David Hughes Memorial Award was established to honor the memory of the former Centre College professor and 1972 KPSA President by recognizing the outstanding paper presented at the previous year's conference by a faculty member or graduate student from a Kentucky college or university.  Papers are collected by the Executive Secretary and judged by the Executive Committee.  The award is bestowed at the dinner meeting of the following conference. 

Past Winners

2014 Rebecca Bromley-Trujillo, J.S. Butler and Davis, University of Kentucky, “The Spreading of Innovation: State Adoptions of Energy and Climate Change Policy.

2013 Mark Peffley of the University of Kentucky, Marc Hutchison of the University of Rhode Island, and Michal Shamir of the University of Tel-Aviv, Israel. "The Impact of Terrorism on Israeli Political Tolerance, 1980 to 2011."

2012  Dr. Jason Gainous and Dr. Allison M. Martens of the University of Louisville.  “The Effectiveness of Civics Education: Is Being a ‘Good Teacher’ Actually Good for Students?”

2011 Jonathan W. Pidluzny, Morehead State University."The Social Requisites of Liberal Democracy, and Alexis de Tocqueville's Analysis of Islam"

2010 Jason Gainous, University of Louisville.

2009 Charles Ziegler, University of Louisville. "Competing for Markets and Influence: Asian National Oil Companies in Eurasia"

2008 William Garriott and Michael Douglas, Centre College. "George Bush, The Rally Effect, And The Partisan Popular Press."

2007 Jonathan Winburn, Western Kentucky University. "Comparing Redistricting Outcomes Across the States: A Comparison of Commission, Court, and Legislative Plans."

2006 Kenneth McIntyre, Campbellsville University. "Orwell's Despair: Nineteen Eighty-Four and the Critique of the Teleocratic State."

2005 Brian Caza, Georgetown College

2004 John Heyrman, Berea College, "The Electoral College: A Critical Analysis."

2003 None Selected.

2002 Glenn W. Rainey, Jr. and Jane Gurganus Rainey, Eastern Kentucky University, "Representational Issues and Electoral College Reform: Implications of the 2000 Presidential Election."

2001 None Selected.

2000 JD Droddy, Western Kentucky University, "Originalist Justification and Methodology of Unenumerated Rights"  Note: this article will be published in an upcoming edition of the Law Review of Michigan State University-Detroit College of Law.  Please visit their site for updates and further information: http://www.dcl.edu/lawrev/index.html.

1999 Shamima Ahmed, Northern Kentucky University, "Assessing the Effectiveness of Welfare Reform Initiatives: The Relevance of Motivational Theories."

1998 Margaret M. Juergens and Nayef H. Samhat, Centre College, "Middle Powers and American Foreign Policy: A Model for Managing World Politics with Lessons from Irano-U.S. Relations, 1968-1978"

1997 Fragano Ledgister, Morehead State University, "The Racist Right and the Internet"

1996 John Heyrman, Berea College, "Should We Blame the Messenger?  If So, for What?  A Study of Newspaper Coverage of U.S. House Elections."



1993 Paul Knepper, Northern Kentucky University, Thomas Jefferson, Criminal Law Reform, and the Founding of the Kentucky Penitentiary at Frankfort."

1992 Paul Blanchard, Eastern Kentucky University, "Education Reform And Executive--Legislative Relations In Kentucky:  HB 940 As The Culmination Of Legislative Independence, 1980-1990", and John Heyrman, Berea College, "Reflections on Incumbency and the Meaning of Recent Elections in the United States."

Our records right now are incomplete: if you have additional information about these or other award winners, please contact Mike Berheide, and this page will be updated accordingly.

Note as well that we hope to put the full text of the latest winning papers on this site in the near future.